Home » Blackboard » Blackboard Learn » Adding an ‘Update Bookmark’ Message to the My Institution Page

Adding an ‘Update Bookmark’ Message to the My Institution Page

Once Ultra Base Navigation is enabled, users will automatically be redirected to “/ultra” when they visit your domain. However, if a user has previously bookmarked the My Institution tab or any other tabs, those tabs won’t be redirected. To help transition users to the new Ultra interface, we added a message at the top of our old My Institution Page. Additionally, we removed all modules on that page, so there was no reason for users to go back to it. 

Steps

  1. Create a new Module

    Create a new HTML module with your message. I’ve included the HTML code of our notice if you’d like to use it. 

  2. Set the Module as a Header

    Navigate to Tabs and Modules > Tabs > My Institution Tab > Default Layout, and select your new module as the header. 

  3. Remove any Fixed Modules

    From the Default Layout page, scroll down to Fixed Modules, unselect any selected modules, and click Submit. 

  4. Remove any Additional Modules

    Navigate to Tabs and Modules > Tabs > My Institution Tab > Default Content, and uncheck any displayed modules.

HTML Code of Notice

<div style="padding: 10px; border: 2px solid black; margin-bottom: 15px;"><p style="text-align: center;"><span style="font-size: 18pt;">This page is no longer in use. Please update your bookmarks to use the new <a href="https://<yourdomain>/ultra">Blackboard Learn Ultra URL</a>.&nbsp;</span></p> </div>

Eric Silva

Eric is a Systems Analyst at The University of Texas at San Antonio and a graduate from Boise State University. Learn more about me.

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.